Grants and Awards ANZAC


24th October 2017

Nominations have opened for the 2018 ANZAC of the Year Awards.

The awards honour those who serve in peace and also perpetuate the memory and gallantry of those who served in war.

Leader of The Nationals and Member for Murray Plains Peter Walsh encouraged residents in the Murray Plains Electorate to give serious consideration to nominating a deserving person for the awards.

“The Returned & Services League of Australia has established a series of National Honours and they include the ANZAC Peace Prize and the ANZAC of the Year Award,” Mr Walsh said.

“The ANZAC Peace Prize is awarded annually to an Australian individual or group for outstanding efforts in promoting international understanding and peace.

“There are also seven ANZAC of the Year Awards which will go to Australian individuals or groups for service to the community in a positive, compassionate and selfless manner and who have demonstrated the human qualities of doggedness, tenacity, endurance and constancy to an exceptional degree.

Mr Walsh said the awards were designed so that men and women who do not have a high profile already in the community, but whose unsung work or commitment is truly selfless and worthy could be recognized and honoured for their efforts at a national level.

He said the awards were for any deserving person in the community – young or old – ex-service or not.

Nomination packs are available by hard copy or email by calling 03 9655 5555 or online from the RSL Victoria website

Nominations close on the 4th December 2017.

Together we can make a difference

Help build a better Murray Plains

Get Involved
Created with NationBuilder